Sunday, September 28, 2008

Golf was good. I'm soaked.
What to do, what to do. No more rain or lightning. Should I stay?
I may be obsessed, but I'm not stupid. Lightning is never a good thing when holding long metal objects. Headed back home.
Sitting in the parking lot at the course, waiting for daylight; there's a light rain falling. Is this the definition of obsession?

Saturday, September 27, 2008

UNBELIEVABLE WIN!! Way to go Phils; NL East Champs!

Friday, September 26, 2008

Not exactly the jet-packs we were promised when we were kids, but still pretty damn cool. http://ping.fm/3fk9f
Still recording....this is getting old quick. If you have time be sure to check out http://ping.fm/IfDnD

Thursday, September 25, 2008

Interesting comments about Palin. http://ping.fm/HFsmS Just in case you're wondering, Alcee was a federal judge that was convicted of perjury and racketeering; both felonies. But you can still be a Congressman!
.....and we're back. Not sure what the problem was, but I am still dropping Comcast when FiOS is available.
I know you all will be shocked to hear this but my cable connection is down again! I can't wait for FiOS!
Recording some training sessions for Verizon. Sounds like fun, right? You know you're jealous.

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

Sitting in class. I can't wait until this class is over. My team is driving me bat-shit crazy!
Why can't the Phillies give Hamels any run support? He should have 20 wins by now!

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

This is just plain wicked cool technology. http://ping.fm/HrDEk
Why is this not being questioned? http://ping.fm/P1VoE
This should be called 'How to look like a tool in one easy step': http://ping.fm/ZwRGQ

Monday, September 22, 2008

Headed up to bed. Tuesday is going to be a LONG day (with no golf in the morning).
working on my resume. no, i'm not looking for a new job (not yet anyway), it's a school assignment.
Big wins in Philly yesterday. Go Phillies! Go Eagles!

Friday, September 19, 2008

For the second day in a row (so far), the DOW is up over 400 points. Don't you wish you BOUGHT stock two days ago when it was down 500??
Two training sessions today. Session 1 is complete, and it went well. Session 2 is scheduled for 2PM. Can't wait for 5PM!

Thursday, September 18, 2008

Biden just doesn't get it. Doesn't he realize that 80% of the taxes collected by our government already come from the top 20% wage earners? http://is.gd/2Nwv
Biden doesn't get it. http://elections.foxnews.com/2008/09/18/biden-wealthy-americans-must-pay-more-taxes-to-show-patriotism/ Doesn't he realize that 20% of the wealthiest people already account for 80% of the taxes paid in this country??!!

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Going to bed. Training Flex T1 tomorrow, gotta have my 'A' game.
If you read nothing else about the stock market crisis over the past few days, read this. You'll thank me later. http://is.gd/2ITv
Can someone explain to me why the Fed would allow Lehman to fail on their own, but then decide to step in and rescue AIG?
I hate when people say that Palin wants to take away a woman's right to choose. SHE DOESN'T! She wants to leave it up to State gov't, not the Federal gov't.

Monday, September 15, 2008

It's going to be a really busy morning, which will then probably lead to a really busy afternoon.

Sunday, September 14, 2008

Taking Emma to her first soccer practice. She is pretty excited! Will post pictures later.

Saturday, September 13, 2008

Mike Montanez is getting married, and I'm hanging out at the bachelor party. So far, the Phillies win has been the highlight.
Let's go Phillies. I love this ballpark; what a great palce to watch a game.
Tailgaiting at the Phillies game. Lincoln Financial Field parking lot; section K14. Stop by for a beer if you're around.
Phillies game later today, then more partying with the fellas. Gonna be a LONG day.

Thursday, September 11, 2008

Just heard a report that the largest cell phone company in China has 400 million customers!!
Never Forget.

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Dear Mr. Obama: http://is.gd/2jaY

Tuesday, September 9, 2008

With all the talk of global warming and the energy crisis, why don't we ever hear anything about nuclear power?

Monday, September 8, 2008

I am seriously considering giving up the game of golf. It's actually painful for me to play. Not physical pain, but mental.

Sunday, September 7, 2008

Go Phillies! Go Eagles!

Friday, September 5, 2008

Headed down to Arlington to check out the hotels for next year's SE Summit.

Thursday, September 4, 2008

Great meetings in Philly today. Off to Arlington, VA tomorrow. Not looking forward to that drive.
Philly office today. Meetings all day.

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Just another liberal magazine trying to sway the vote. Media are scum. http://ping.fm/4Hx3X

Tuesday, September 2, 2008

Fred Thompson can really work up a crowd!
All three girls survived their first day of the school year; not so sure about Bridget though.

Monday, September 1, 2008

Sarah starts 7th grade tomorrow and Emma and Maggie start kindergarten. I can't believe it!

Sunday, August 31, 2008

Shot a 46 today. It's getting a little better, let's hope it continues in this direction. Had one birdie, one par, and (unfortunately), one 'snowman'.

Saturday, August 30, 2008

Is Comcast serious about this? Why? There is no good reason for it. http://ping.fm/Izf1d
Is Comcast serious about this? Why? There is no good reason for it. http://ping.fm/Izf1d
Terrible, terrible round of golf this morning. I was +11 thru 5 holes, and it didn't get any better for the next 4 holes.

Friday, August 29, 2008

McCain+Palin=Genius!
Golf today (twice). Playing later today in the 'Shane's Kindness Memorial Golf Outing'. Such a great cause; check it out here: http://ping.fm/jRbtC

Thursday, August 28, 2008

Another great class today. Can't wait to apply this to my job. Thanks Zuhair! http://www.suidan.com
On the train, headed back into downtown Philadelphia. Last day of class.

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Phils blew a 2 run lead, and now trail by 3. Keeping my fingers crossed for another comeback! Going to bed, I'll read all about it in the morning.
About to get on the train; headed home after another successful day of training.
Sitting in class again. Zuhair Suidan is a great instructor. http://www.suidan.com
BIG win for the Phillies last night, took back first place from the Mets.

Tuesday, August 26, 2008

I really wish Hillary would 'get going' off my TV screen!
Obviously the Verizon Wireless Can-You-Hear-Me-Now-Guy has NEVER been to the Jenkintown, PA train station! Grrrr!
What a great Marketing class today. Zuhair Suidan really knows his stuff. Suidan.com
Sitting in a strategic marketing, analysis, and planning class. It hasn't started yet because we're waiting on 4 people to show up! So much for an 8:am start!

Monday, August 25, 2008

On my way home from the Phillies game. My wish came true; no rain, and a win (a 4-game sweep!)!!!
headed to the Phillies game tonight. Still keeping my fingers crossed for a win, and no rain.
Back from the optometrist. First time I ever had my pupils dilated. I couldn't see. Very unusual for me. The upside, I don't need glasses.
Phillies game tonight. Keeping my fingers crossed for two things, a Phillies win, and less importantly, no rain!
Golf was pretty decent this morning. Played 3-club again; 6-iron, 60 degree wedge, and putter. Put a bunch of bogeys on the card, but also a 7 and 8. Could do without those.
Golf this morning. Happy Birthday Cesar! Hope it's a great day.

Sunday, August 24, 2008

Headed up to bed. Congratulations China. You were a tremendous host to this year's Olympics, and you put on a hell of a show. Thanks for the memories.
Headed out to water the plants and flowers.
Hanging out with the family on a lazy Sunday.

Monday, August 11, 2008

What happened?

I wish I knew. There I was coming off a emotional high of shooting a 39. I followed it up with a 45 and then a 49 (not the greatest, but still pretty decent for me). Then I went out on Sunday morning, same time, same place. I'm not sure who it was that was in my place on the course, it sure as hell felt like me, but I know it wasn't. I started out with a topped shot on the first that went about 70 yards. Not altogether unusual, but certainly not a great way to start. I did manage to hit a second shot 5-wood dead-center to within 70 yards, and things were looking up. I then managed to completely shank my pitch shot 30 yards right of the green. I hit my fourth shot fat, and came up short; hit my 5th short again, and was next to the bunker, then I chipped long onto the other side of the green. Finally on in 7, I managed to two putt my way to a 9. Uh-Oh.

There's always 8 more holes, right. It had to get better, it just HAD to. No such luck. I missed my drive off the tee again, and managed to make it into the fairway by my third shot. What the hell was happening? I ended up with a 10 on the second hole. At the rate I was going I would have my 39 by the end of the 4th hole.

I stood on the third tee box and was faced with a 170 yard par three. Just as a point of reference, I've had a GIR five of the last six times I played this hole. I felt confident I could hit this shot. I took my practice swings, stood over the ball, exhaled, and swung. The ball sailed high in the air, unfortunately, it was also going to the right. REALLY, REALLY far to the right. I chipped over the hedgerow, and was short, chipped on, and then one putted. Not a bad bogey considering the start.

I once again topped my drive on four, and managed a 7 on the hole.

Once I stood on the fifth tee box, I realized this day was in complete shambles. I had thrown a few clubs at this point (something I vowed not to do anymore), and I bent the shaft on my 60 degree lob wedge (my favorite club). I managed to hit my 5th hole tee shot so poorly, that I literally said to my playing partners "Gentlemen, I am done". It was actually painful for them to watch.

When we got to the sixth, Mike convinced me to tee it up one more time. I should have trusted myself, and said no; but I didn't. I topped this ball also, and ended up with a 7 on the hole. Did the same thing on hole number 7, and then managed to put my tee shot in the water on 8.

I finished the day on 9 with another topped tee shot, and walked off the course in disgust after my 5th shot ended up in the trees.

Like I said at the beginning of this post, I'm not sure who it was that was playing in my place on Sunday, but it wasn't me. I'm playing again on Wed, and hopefully it will be a better round.

Just in case you are keeping score, that is 9 straight holes where I miss-hit my tee shot. Has anyone EVER done that? I doubt it.

Until my next posting, hit 'em straight!

Kevin

Thursday, August 7, 2008

WOW!

I'm not sure where it came from, but today I shot a 39 on the back 9 of Flourtown Country Club. Which means, if I add yesterday's front 9, and today's back, I shot a round of 83. I am ecstatic! I know that over the past two weeks I have been hitting the ball with a little more consistency, but I never expected this. A few months ago I set a goal to shoot below an 85; it's only August, and I've already met that goal.

Of course, that's not to say that I have a new goal of below an 80 (that will come in time), but for now, I just want to shoot somewhere between 85 and 90 on a consistent basis. I realize I have a long way to go, and that I will have some blow-up holes, and blow-up rounds, but I hope it continues for a little while.

I have no delusions of grandeur thinking that I will be able to make a living playing golf at any point in my life, but playing well has always been my goal, and now that I am a little closer, it feels really good to know that I can shoot a decent score.

I'll play again tomorrow, and hopefully post again. Until then, hit 'em straight!

Kevin

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

It's been a few days since my last post.

Ok, so more than a few days, but I was on vacation for a week, and only played once while I was away.

For those that may be tracking my scores (although I'm not sure why anyone would want to), they are:

7/24 - 54 (Played 9 holes at Shore Gate while on vacation in Sea Isle City, NJ.)

7/30 - 32 after 7 holes at Flourtown Country Club.
7/30 - 99 for 18 holes at Island Green Country Club in Philadelphia. Played golf with some friends from high school. Haven't seen them any of them in a while, and it was great to get out. Wish the score was a little lower, but it was a great day all around.

8/1 - 46
8/2 - 19 (Only played 4 holes. Got chased off the course by lightning.)
8/4 - 47
8/6 - 44 (Put a 44 on the card, even with a 7 and an 8 on the card. REALLY happy with that.)

There were a few more rounds in there, but I forgot to post them to Wireless18, so I don't have the exact scores. I can say they weren't in the 50s, but some were pretty close. I do know that I am striking the ball better, and that as long as I can keep the 7s and 8s off the card, I should be in the low 40s pretty soon.

I just hope it keeps up.

Thursday, July 17, 2008

Today HAD to be better than yesterday, right?

Well, yes, and no. I started off with an 'On in Four', and carded a 6; it certainly wasn't looking good. Then another 6, followed by a dreaded 7. Uh-Oh. Is it time to hang up the spikes, and sell the clubs on ebay? Maybe.

Next up, the fourth hole. Short par 4 (283 yards), straight up hill, with a pretty narrow fairway, but only a few real trouble spots. I hit a tee shot with a 5 wood that was straight as an arrow. The only problem was the archer was pointed in the wrong direction, and it landed a little left of the fairway, but clear of any trouble (trees, bunker, etc.). I had about 60 yards into the green, and I pulled out my 60 degree lob wedge. A great man once told me to "Trust my swing", and so I did. The pin was tucked in the front right, and it was tempting me. I took a full swing, landed on the green right at the flag, and rolled about 6 or 7 feet past. It was a thing of beauty.

As my foursome putted out, I was standing over a down hill, but very make-able putt. It broke ever so slightly to the left, and I needed to hit the right edge for it to drop. I struck it cleanly, but maybe a little too soft. It rolled true, and was headed right to the hole. I was sure that at any moment it was going to stop dead. Then as it got closer, it just kept going; dropping in just on the front right edge. A BIRDIE! I stood there almost in disbelief. After a terrible showing yesterday, and a pretty bad (but typical) start, I had my first birdie in weeks.

I then proceeded to hit my next tee shot just right of the fairway on 5, and hit a second shot back in the fairway to within 70 yards of the green. Of course, I bladed the third shot, manged to get on in four, and two putted my way to a six.

I actually managed a par on 6 (on in two!), and then went back to my normal slice, shank, pull, topped, pop-up, FOUR-PUTT!, for the next three holes.

I ended the day with a way-too-high, 50, but all things considered, it was 9 strokes lower than the previous day.

On a side note, I did go to the doctor a little later in the day, and found out that the reason I feel like crap is because I have strep throat. Not that it's an excuse for my poor play, but at least I know why I ache all over, and my throat is KILLING me!

Maybe I can knock a few more strokes off my game tomorrow, and get back in the mid-40s. I would love it to be another 9 strokes, but the golf gods are never that kind. I'll write more later, and let you know how I fare.

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

Holy Crap!

I can't believe how bad golf was this morning. It started off with a great shot right up the left-hand side, and in the fairway. I even followed it up with a decent second shot that landed just to the right of the green. Then it happened; it all fell apart. I don't know where it went, and I don't know how it happened, but it did. I was no longer 'on in four'; hell, I was lucky if I was on in SIX! I put sevens and eights ALL over the card today. I even had an eight on a par three! No kidding; it was that bad. I can only imagine what tomorrow will bring, but for today, I have to live with the fact that I shot a...wait for it...59! I might want to think about therapy at this point.

Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Withdrawal

It's been three full days since I swung a golf club, and I think I am suffering from withdrawal symptoms.

I am playing tomorrow morning no matter what, so I should have more to write then.

Until then, I hope you are playing, and I hope you hit 'em straight.

Kevin

Friday, July 11, 2008

July 11th, 2008

This morning hurt. It started with a 7 (remember yesterday? The first hole was a 4), and didn't get much better throughout the round. Overall, the score on the card was a 51. OUCH! Not a good morning.

I had one par, three bogeys, two double bogeys, and three triple bogeys. Gotta get rid of the triples. They really, really kill the scorecard.

The one bright spot was hole number 5. It is 437 yard par 4, and that was my one par today (I can't remember ever shooting par on this hole). I hit a decent tee shot, just right of the fairway, then hit another decent shot for my second, putting it 40 yards from the green, a little short and right. My third shot landed about 6 feet from the cup, then I actually had the nerve to one-putt. What a great hole; four solid shots in a row.

I just wish the remaining holes had been somewhat similar. Oh well, there is always tomorrow.

Thursday, July 10, 2008

July 10th, 2008

A pretty typical round today. Sunny weather, a little humid out, but not too bad at 6:00am. I played nine holes today, the first six with Bill McClelland.

I opened up hole number one with a par (4). Surprise, surprise. It was a decent tee shot, in the fairway on the right. My second shot actually was also dead straight, and landed right on the fringe and rolled just on the green (on in two!). It was a really long putt that I read pretty well, and left it about one and a half feet from the cup for a pretty simple tap-in. What a great way to start the morning.

Unfortunately, it didn't last.

On the second hole, I hit my tee shot a long way, but I pulled it, and it hit off a tree. I think it must have bounced into the woods, because I didn't see it, and I couldn't find it. Ouch. I took a drop, and was finally on the green in 5, then I two-putted for a 7.

The rest of the round was pretty typical. I put three 6's on the card, three 5's and a 3.

Total for the day = 47.

btw, I found this really cool site called wireless18.com, and it allows you to score your round on a BlackBerry, and then post them online right from your phone. It's completely free, and is a simple way to track your scores.

About this blog

I decided to write this blog in an attempt to document my golf experiences. I'm not sure how it will help (if at all), but it will certainly give you all something to laugh about. I have been playing golf on a regular basis for three years now, and unfortunately, I haven't seen a significant amount of improvement in my game.

I guess I am a pretty typical golfer in that I've played on and off for years, usually a few times a season in different outings, etc. For the past three seasons, I have played pretty regularly; starting out on weekends, then progressing to weekends and a weekday here and there. Currently, starting about four months ago, I joined a local golf club (Flourtown Country Club), and I play just about every morning. It's just nine holes that I'm able to get in before work, but it's enough to provide a decent amount of relaxation (and unfortunately stress at the same time).

The blog is titled On In Four because that is about how I am playing right now. I find that if I hit a decent shot off the tee, then I proceed to miss-hit my next one, and sometimes even the shot after that. Depending on how bad the miss hits are, I usually end up on the green in four, and then follow-up with two putts for a 6 on the scorecard. Not good. I would love to put fours and fives on the card all day long, and this blog will track my progress.

Sometimes the postings will be detailed, and tell you about each hole and how good (or bad) it was, and sometimes I will just post a score. I'll try to keep up with this everyday, so feel free to stop back, and let me know what you think.

Also, if you have any suggestions on how to improve my game, I'm all ears.

Thanks for reading. I look forward to seeing all your comments.

Kevin Mogee