Monday, August 11, 2008

What happened?

I wish I knew. There I was coming off a emotional high of shooting a 39. I followed it up with a 45 and then a 49 (not the greatest, but still pretty decent for me). Then I went out on Sunday morning, same time, same place. I'm not sure who it was that was in my place on the course, it sure as hell felt like me, but I know it wasn't. I started out with a topped shot on the first that went about 70 yards. Not altogether unusual, but certainly not a great way to start. I did manage to hit a second shot 5-wood dead-center to within 70 yards, and things were looking up. I then managed to completely shank my pitch shot 30 yards right of the green. I hit my fourth shot fat, and came up short; hit my 5th short again, and was next to the bunker, then I chipped long onto the other side of the green. Finally on in 7, I managed to two putt my way to a 9. Uh-Oh.

There's always 8 more holes, right. It had to get better, it just HAD to. No such luck. I missed my drive off the tee again, and managed to make it into the fairway by my third shot. What the hell was happening? I ended up with a 10 on the second hole. At the rate I was going I would have my 39 by the end of the 4th hole.

I stood on the third tee box and was faced with a 170 yard par three. Just as a point of reference, I've had a GIR five of the last six times I played this hole. I felt confident I could hit this shot. I took my practice swings, stood over the ball, exhaled, and swung. The ball sailed high in the air, unfortunately, it was also going to the right. REALLY, REALLY far to the right. I chipped over the hedgerow, and was short, chipped on, and then one putted. Not a bad bogey considering the start.

I once again topped my drive on four, and managed a 7 on the hole.

Once I stood on the fifth tee box, I realized this day was in complete shambles. I had thrown a few clubs at this point (something I vowed not to do anymore), and I bent the shaft on my 60 degree lob wedge (my favorite club). I managed to hit my 5th hole tee shot so poorly, that I literally said to my playing partners "Gentlemen, I am done". It was actually painful for them to watch.

When we got to the sixth, Mike convinced me to tee it up one more time. I should have trusted myself, and said no; but I didn't. I topped this ball also, and ended up with a 7 on the hole. Did the same thing on hole number 7, and then managed to put my tee shot in the water on 8.

I finished the day on 9 with another topped tee shot, and walked off the course in disgust after my 5th shot ended up in the trees.

Like I said at the beginning of this post, I'm not sure who it was that was playing in my place on Sunday, but it wasn't me. I'm playing again on Wed, and hopefully it will be a better round.

Just in case you are keeping score, that is 9 straight holes where I miss-hit my tee shot. Has anyone EVER done that? I doubt it.

Until my next posting, hit 'em straight!

Kevin

No comments: