Sunday, August 31, 2008

Shot a 46 today. It's getting a little better, let's hope it continues in this direction. Had one birdie, one par, and (unfortunately), one 'snowman'.

Saturday, August 30, 2008

Is Comcast serious about this? Why? There is no good reason for it. http://ping.fm/Izf1d
Is Comcast serious about this? Why? There is no good reason for it. http://ping.fm/Izf1d
Terrible, terrible round of golf this morning. I was +11 thru 5 holes, and it didn't get any better for the next 4 holes.

Friday, August 29, 2008

McCain+Palin=Genius!
Golf today (twice). Playing later today in the 'Shane's Kindness Memorial Golf Outing'. Such a great cause; check it out here: http://ping.fm/jRbtC

Thursday, August 28, 2008

Another great class today. Can't wait to apply this to my job. Thanks Zuhair! http://www.suidan.com
On the train, headed back into downtown Philadelphia. Last day of class.

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Phils blew a 2 run lead, and now trail by 3. Keeping my fingers crossed for another comeback! Going to bed, I'll read all about it in the morning.
About to get on the train; headed home after another successful day of training.
Sitting in class again. Zuhair Suidan is a great instructor. http://www.suidan.com
BIG win for the Phillies last night, took back first place from the Mets.

Tuesday, August 26, 2008

I really wish Hillary would 'get going' off my TV screen!
Obviously the Verizon Wireless Can-You-Hear-Me-Now-Guy has NEVER been to the Jenkintown, PA train station! Grrrr!
What a great Marketing class today. Zuhair Suidan really knows his stuff. Suidan.com
Sitting in a strategic marketing, analysis, and planning class. It hasn't started yet because we're waiting on 4 people to show up! So much for an 8:am start!

Monday, August 25, 2008

On my way home from the Phillies game. My wish came true; no rain, and a win (a 4-game sweep!)!!!
headed to the Phillies game tonight. Still keeping my fingers crossed for a win, and no rain.
Back from the optometrist. First time I ever had my pupils dilated. I couldn't see. Very unusual for me. The upside, I don't need glasses.
Phillies game tonight. Keeping my fingers crossed for two things, a Phillies win, and less importantly, no rain!
Golf was pretty decent this morning. Played 3-club again; 6-iron, 60 degree wedge, and putter. Put a bunch of bogeys on the card, but also a 7 and 8. Could do without those.
Golf this morning. Happy Birthday Cesar! Hope it's a great day.

Sunday, August 24, 2008

Headed up to bed. Congratulations China. You were a tremendous host to this year's Olympics, and you put on a hell of a show. Thanks for the memories.
Headed out to water the plants and flowers.
Hanging out with the family on a lazy Sunday.

Monday, August 11, 2008

What happened?

I wish I knew. There I was coming off a emotional high of shooting a 39. I followed it up with a 45 and then a 49 (not the greatest, but still pretty decent for me). Then I went out on Sunday morning, same time, same place. I'm not sure who it was that was in my place on the course, it sure as hell felt like me, but I know it wasn't. I started out with a topped shot on the first that went about 70 yards. Not altogether unusual, but certainly not a great way to start. I did manage to hit a second shot 5-wood dead-center to within 70 yards, and things were looking up. I then managed to completely shank my pitch shot 30 yards right of the green. I hit my fourth shot fat, and came up short; hit my 5th short again, and was next to the bunker, then I chipped long onto the other side of the green. Finally on in 7, I managed to two putt my way to a 9. Uh-Oh.

There's always 8 more holes, right. It had to get better, it just HAD to. No such luck. I missed my drive off the tee again, and managed to make it into the fairway by my third shot. What the hell was happening? I ended up with a 10 on the second hole. At the rate I was going I would have my 39 by the end of the 4th hole.

I stood on the third tee box and was faced with a 170 yard par three. Just as a point of reference, I've had a GIR five of the last six times I played this hole. I felt confident I could hit this shot. I took my practice swings, stood over the ball, exhaled, and swung. The ball sailed high in the air, unfortunately, it was also going to the right. REALLY, REALLY far to the right. I chipped over the hedgerow, and was short, chipped on, and then one putted. Not a bad bogey considering the start.

I once again topped my drive on four, and managed a 7 on the hole.

Once I stood on the fifth tee box, I realized this day was in complete shambles. I had thrown a few clubs at this point (something I vowed not to do anymore), and I bent the shaft on my 60 degree lob wedge (my favorite club). I managed to hit my 5th hole tee shot so poorly, that I literally said to my playing partners "Gentlemen, I am done". It was actually painful for them to watch.

When we got to the sixth, Mike convinced me to tee it up one more time. I should have trusted myself, and said no; but I didn't. I topped this ball also, and ended up with a 7 on the hole. Did the same thing on hole number 7, and then managed to put my tee shot in the water on 8.

I finished the day on 9 with another topped tee shot, and walked off the course in disgust after my 5th shot ended up in the trees.

Like I said at the beginning of this post, I'm not sure who it was that was playing in my place on Sunday, but it wasn't me. I'm playing again on Wed, and hopefully it will be a better round.

Just in case you are keeping score, that is 9 straight holes where I miss-hit my tee shot. Has anyone EVER done that? I doubt it.

Until my next posting, hit 'em straight!

Kevin

Thursday, August 7, 2008

WOW!

I'm not sure where it came from, but today I shot a 39 on the back 9 of Flourtown Country Club. Which means, if I add yesterday's front 9, and today's back, I shot a round of 83. I am ecstatic! I know that over the past two weeks I have been hitting the ball with a little more consistency, but I never expected this. A few months ago I set a goal to shoot below an 85; it's only August, and I've already met that goal.

Of course, that's not to say that I have a new goal of below an 80 (that will come in time), but for now, I just want to shoot somewhere between 85 and 90 on a consistent basis. I realize I have a long way to go, and that I will have some blow-up holes, and blow-up rounds, but I hope it continues for a little while.

I have no delusions of grandeur thinking that I will be able to make a living playing golf at any point in my life, but playing well has always been my goal, and now that I am a little closer, it feels really good to know that I can shoot a decent score.

I'll play again tomorrow, and hopefully post again. Until then, hit 'em straight!

Kevin

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

It's been a few days since my last post.

Ok, so more than a few days, but I was on vacation for a week, and only played once while I was away.

For those that may be tracking my scores (although I'm not sure why anyone would want to), they are:

7/24 - 54 (Played 9 holes at Shore Gate while on vacation in Sea Isle City, NJ.)

7/30 - 32 after 7 holes at Flourtown Country Club.
7/30 - 99 for 18 holes at Island Green Country Club in Philadelphia. Played golf with some friends from high school. Haven't seen them any of them in a while, and it was great to get out. Wish the score was a little lower, but it was a great day all around.

8/1 - 46
8/2 - 19 (Only played 4 holes. Got chased off the course by lightning.)
8/4 - 47
8/6 - 44 (Put a 44 on the card, even with a 7 and an 8 on the card. REALLY happy with that.)

There were a few more rounds in there, but I forgot to post them to Wireless18, so I don't have the exact scores. I can say they weren't in the 50s, but some were pretty close. I do know that I am striking the ball better, and that as long as I can keep the 7s and 8s off the card, I should be in the low 40s pretty soon.

I just hope it keeps up.